I’m Planning A Trip To Iceland

I wanted to go to places which are highly suggested and definitely worth my time. I don’t want to regret having to spend my money and energy to places I consider boring and usual to the eyes so I decided to research on the different places in the world. I then discovered Iceland. It is a place where I can see beautiful landscapes and other marvelous sites. It’s even available on winter time.

090801_v_MG_3240

Why Going To Iceland Is The Best

The place is closer than I think. It only takes a 5 or 6 hour plane ride when I come from Boston or New York. The horses are a little bit different from what we normally see. Another reason is that Iceland is considered as one of the safest countries in the world. In there, I won’t worry about my safety too much and I can have the time of my life spending it with my friends or families.

63386_1600x1200-wallpaper-cb1358462619

The country also has great seafood and meat cuisines. The place has this food where an Asian-fusion crab legs is baked and mixed with chili mayo. Other foods are harbor-side sushi, lobsters and a Plokkfiskur, which is the country’s traditional dish made of fish with baked potatoes.

Best Landscapes And Sites

I will soon have a glimpse at one of the beautiful wonders of the world. In South Iceland, there are geysers, waterfalls, volcanoes, glaciers, and other natural wonders. The landscape more likely has both a highland and lowland area. There are two amazing national parks namely: Skaftafell and the Thingvellir National Park. A hiking path is also available in the Southern Highlands; this is the Laugavegur hiking trail.

thingvellir-isor5226

Glaciers that are literally on the shore can also be found in the South Iceland. There is the Vatnajokull, considered as the largest glacier in Europe, in the east and in the west the Eyjafjallajokull and Myrdalsjokull can be found. The place also has volcanoes such as the Surtsey, Hekla, Westmann Islands, Katla, and the Laki craters. The Laki crater, which is found just a few miles from Kirkjubæjarklaustur, has produced the biggest lava flow ever recorded in human history.

Vatnajokull_glacier

Historical sites can even be found in Iceland. There is an archaeological excavation in the Saga Age farms ruin which was found in the late 1939. It was covered with pumice when the volcano Hekla erupted in 1104 AD. Also, at the Hvolsvollur houses exhibitions, the Saga Centre can be found.

stong--the-ruins-of-a-real-viking-settlement-manor-1

In the Northern Iceland, Snæfellsjökull glacier and Iconic Kirkjufell mountains can be seen. There are coastal hotels and fishing villages available. The place also has sea arches, sea stacks, volcanic lakes, abandoned turf farm, luminous icebergs floating in a lagoon, and a country hotel which is really close to a glacier lagoon. The so-called waterfall of the Gods, which is named Godafoss, can also be found in this area.

There are so many destinations and glorious seafood menus that make me want to go there as soon as possible. I can relax, enjoy those glorious foods, and experience those breathtaking wonders.

Leave a Reply

